The minimum wage rate for Connecticut is $13.00 per hour, but this amount is subject to another increase by the end of June 2022. By July 1, 2022, the minimum wage rate will change to $14 per hour, increasing by a dollar, and on June 1, 2023, it will turn into $15 per hour.
Connecticut’s current minimum wage rate is $13.00.
For more information on Connecticut’s minimum wage laws, visit our Connecticut Minimum Wage Laws page, which includes topics such as minimum wage, tip minimum wage, tip sharing and pooling, and subminimum wages.
Related topic covered on other pages include:
Connecticut labor laws require employers to pay employees overtime at a rate of 1½ time their regular rate when they work more than 40 hours in a workweek. Some exceptions apply. CT Statute 31-76b-76i. An employer must also comply with federal overtime laws. See FLSA. Federal law will apply in cases where it benefits employees more, otherwise, state law applies.
If an employee benefits more if the federal law is followed, the employer is encouraged to follow it instead. On a side note, employers don’t have an obligation to pay overtime for work done on Saturdays, Sundays, and even holidays, unless it is more than 40 hours in a workweek.
Under certain circumstances, employers in Connecticut may be required to pay residents wage rates established by the federal or state prevailing wage rates and rules. The prevailing wage rates may be different from the state’s standard minimum wage rates.
Employees may be eligible for prevailing wages if they work on federal or state government or government-funded construction projects or perform certain federal or state government services. See the Connecticut Prevailing Wages, Davis-Bacon and Related Acts, McNamara-O’Hara Service Contract Act (SCA), and Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act (PCA) for more information about prevailing wages.
Generally, Connecticut follows the federal wage rates determined by the US Department of Labor based on county and trade.
The prevailing wage rate comes from a CBA or Collective Bargaining Agreement, where union workers receive equal hourly pay. The US Department of Labor determines the wage using weighted average rates in other instances.
Meals and Breaks
Connecticut labor laws require employers to provide their employees a meal period of at least thirty (30) consecutive minutes if they have worked for seven and one half (7½) or more consecutive hours. Such period shall be given at some time after the first two (2) hours of work and before the last two (2) hours. The Labor Commissioner will exempt an employer from this requirement if one of the following conditions is present:
- complying with this requirement would endanger public safety;
- the duties of the position can only be performed by one employee;
- the employer employs fewer than five (5) employees on that shift at that one location (this only applies only to employees on that particular shift); or,
- the employer’s operation requires that employees be available to respond to urgent conditions, and that the employees are compensated for the meal period.
There are no state laws requiring an employer to provide a break. However, in accordance with federal law, if an employer chooses to do so, breaks, usually of the type lasting less than twenty (20) minutes, must be paid. DOL: Breaks and Meal Periods.
Nursing Mother Breaks
Connecticut labor laws require employers to allow employees who are nursing mothers to express breast milk during meal and rest breaks.
Employers must make reasonable efforts to provide nursing mother employees with private locations where nursing mothers may express breast milk. The locations must be in close proximity to the nursing mothers’ work areas. Toilet stalls do not meet the minimum standards for the nursing mothers location.
Reasonable efforts to provide the minimum requirements for nursing mother locations may not impose an undue hardship on the employer’s business. Whether an employer will suffer an undue hardship by providing a nursing mother location involves how significant the difficulty or expense of it will be related to such factors as:
- the size of the business
- its financial resources
- the nature and structure of its operation
An Act Concerning Breastfeeding in the Workplace or House Bill #5158 took effect on October 1, 2021. It expands the employer’s obligation on nursing mothers’ employees’ rights to breastfeed or extract breast milk during their scheduled breaks in the workplace.
The statute covers all Connecticut employers, requiring them to provide a private lactation room free from intrusion and the public. It must also include a refrigerator or one near the room or portable cold storage provided by the employee to preserve breast milk.
The Connecticut labor laws do not oblige the employers to offer vacation leave benefits to their employees. If an employer decides to do so, they must ensure that these benefits are within the employment contract terms.
An employer may create a contract or policy denying an employee any payment of his accrued vacation leave benefits after separating from the company or failing to comply with requirements.
Information about Connecticut vacation leave laws may now be found on our Connecticut Leave Laws page.
A Connecticut law passed in January 2012 requires some employers to provide paid sick leave benefits to their employees under service worker classifications. Under the law, an employee or service worker earns an hour of paid sick leave for every 40 worked hours.
Employers are mandated to allow employees to earn up to 40 hours of paid sick leave or equal to five days in one calendar year. Employees carry over unused paid sick leaves into the next calendar year but can only use 40 hours out of the earned sick leaves.
Employees under the non-service worker category may also enjoy sick leave benefits if the provider complies with the employment contract or policy terms. Connecticut employers may be asked to provide unpaid sick leave benefits to their employees in line with the state’s or the federal Family and Medical Leave Act.
Information about Connecticut sick leave laws may now be found on our Connecticut Leave Laws page.
There is no specific law for Connecticut private employers to provide paid or unpaid holiday leave benefits. Alternatively, private employers may ask their employees to work on holidays without expecting premium pay. However, they will receive overtime pay for working hours beyond 40 hours a week.
Information about Connecticut holiday leave laws may now be found on our Connecticut Leave Laws page.
Jury Duty Leave
Under the state law, Connecticut employers must pay the first five days or part of their full-time employees performing jury services unless the Chief Court Administrator excuses them from paying.
Casual or temporary employees don’t have the same privilege but may receive a $50 allowance daily, reimbursing out-of-pocket expenses for the initial five days.
All jurors performing jury duty for more than five days receive a reimbursement of $50 a day from the state. Employers cannot discharge, threaten, penalize, or coerce employees for responding to a jury summons.
Information about Connecticut jury duty leave laws may now be found on our Connecticut Leave Laws page.
The signed Senate Bill 1202 on June 23, 2021, is a mandate for employers to provide unpaid two-hour time-off for casting their votes. To be eligible, employees must submit a request at least two days before election.
Information about Connecticut voting leave laws may now be found on our Connecticut Leave Laws page.
Connecticut labor laws do not require employers to provide employees with severance pay. If an employer chooses to provide severance benefits, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.
Under certain circumstances, Connecticut residents may be eligible for unemployment benefits while they search for another job. You are required to certify that you are unemployed on a weekly basis to receive these benefits. See Connecticut State Unemployment Benefits.