Currently, North Dakota has a minimum wage of $7.25. All employers must follow federal minimum wage laws, which set the minimum wage at $7.25. Employers who choose to pay the minimum wage must offer payments equal to or greater than the federal minimum wage standard.
Tipped employees have a minimum wage of $4.86, which must be 33% of the state’s standard minimum wage. To be considered a tipped employee, employees must earn a minimum of $30/month in tips.
Employers are also required to notify employees in advance if they are paid tipped wages. If tipped employees are paid less than the standard minimum wage when combining tips and tipped wages, employers are responsible for the difference.
Visit our North Dakota minimum wage information page to learn more about minimum wage in North Dakota.
Related topic covered on other pages include:
North Dakota labor laws require an employer to pay overtime to employees of 40 hours in a workweek unless otherwise exempt. ND Admin. Code 46-02-07-02(4). See FLSA: Overtime for more information regarding overtime requirements.
North Dakota does not have a prevailing wage law that governs wage rates on government project or service contracts.
Under certain circumstances, employers in North Dakota may be required to pay residents wage rates established by federal prevailing wage rates and rules. The prevailing wage rates may be different from the federal and state’s standard minimum wage rates. Employees may be eligible for prevailing wages if they work on government or government-funded construction projects or perform certain government services. See the Davis-Bacon and Related Acts, McNamara-O’Hara Service Contract Act (SCA), and Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act (PCA) for more information about prevailing wages.
Meals and Breaks
North Dakota labor laws require employers to provide employees with an unpaid 30-minute uninterrupted meal break when scheduled to work more than five (5) hours and two (2) or more employees are on duty. ND Admin. Code 46-02-07-02(5). An employer is not required to provide any other breaks. However, if they do, the breaks must be paid if they are less than thirty (30) minutes. ND Dept. of Labor FAQs.
Nursing Mother Breaks
North Dakota labor laws do not require employers to provide nursing mothers with breaks to express breast milk. However, the federal Fair Labor Standards Act requires certain employees to provide nonexempt nursing mothers for one (1) year following a child’s birth with reasonable rest breaks to express milk and private spaces, other than a bathroom, to express breast milk.
Employers in North Dakota aren’t required to give employees paid or unpaid vacation benefits. Those who choose to offer these benefits must follow the terms set in employment contracts and established policies.
Also, employers must pay employees for accrued vacation upon employment termination. If vacation time is yet to be earned, employers aren’t required to pay employees for vacation leave.
To avoid payment, employers must provide employees with written notice. In instances where employees voluntarily resign from their positions, employers must pay for vacation leave.
The only time employers are not held to this requirement is when:
- Employees have received written notice of not being paid accrued vacation.
- Employees have been employed for less than a year.
- Employees provide employers with less than five days’ notice.
Visit our North Dakota vacation leave information page to learn more about vacation leave in North Dakota.
North Dakota employers aren’t required to provide workers with paid or unpaid sick leave benefits. Employers that offer these benefits must follow the guidelines set in employment contracts and established policies. Also, employers could be required to offer unpaid sick leave via the Family and Medical Leave Act.
Visit our North Dakota sick leave information page to learn more about sick leave in North Dakota.
Private employers aren’t obligated to provide unpaid or paid holiday leave to employees. Additionally, employees are not entitled to premium pay unless their hours are classified as overtime. Employers must follow North Dakota overtime laws if employees’ worked hours are overtime.
It’s also important to note that employers must follow the terms set in employment contracts regarding holiday leave. They must also regard established policies when determining holiday pay.Visit our North Dakota holiday leave information page to learn more about holiday leave in North Dakota.
Jury Duty Leave
Employers in North Dakota aren’t required to pay employees for attending a jury summons or serving on a jury. Employers cannot coerce, threaten, or terminate an employee for responding to a summons or serving as a juror.Visit our North Dakota jury duty leave information page to learn more about jury duty leave in North Dakota.
Currently, the state encourages employers to create programs that allow their employees to vote. That said, there aren’t specific laws regarding voting leave in North Dakota. Employers may provide time off when polls are open and if there aren’t conflicts with work schedules.Visit our North Dakota voting leave information page to learn more about voting leave in North Dakota.
North Dakota labor laws do not require employers to provide employees with severance pay. If an employer chooses to provide severance benefits, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.
Residents of North Dakota could receive unemployment benefits while searching for another job. There are specific requirements residents must meet to be eligible for benefits. These eligibility requirements include:
- Applicants must be ready and able to work.
- Applicants must be actively seeking employment while receiving benefits.
- Applicants must be unemployed through no fault of their own.
- Applicants must have earned a minimum amount in wages before unemployment.
Visit North Dakota’s unemployment information page to learn more about unemployment benefits in North Dakota.