Vermont’s current minimum wage is $12.55.
For more information on Vermont’s minimum wage laws, visit our Vermont Minimum Wage Laws page, which includes topics such as minimum wage, tip minimum wage, tip sharing and pooling, and subminimum wages.
Related topics covered on other pages include:
Vermont labor laws require an employer to pay overtime to employees, unless otherwise exempt, at the rate of 1½ times the employee’s regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek. VT Statute 21-384. See FLSA: Overtime for more information regarding overtime requirements.
Under certain circumstances, employers in Vermont may be required to pay residents wage rates established by the federal or state prevailing wage rates and rules. The prevailing wage rates may be different from the state’s standard minimum wage rates. Employees may be eligible for prevailing wages if they work on federal or state government or government-funded construction projects or perform certain federal or state government services. See the Vermont Prevailing Wages, Davis-Bacon and Related Acts, McNamara-O’Hara Service Contract Act (SCA), and Walsh-Healey Public Contracts Act (PCA) for more information about prevailing wages.
Meals and Breaks
Under Vermont labor laws, an employer must provide its employees with “reasonable opportunity” to eat and use toilet facilities in order to protect the health and hygiene of the employee. VT Stat. 21-304. Under federal law, breaks, usually of the type lasting less than twenty (20) minutes, must be paid. Meal or lunch periods (usually thirty (30) minutes or more) do not need to be paid, so long as the employee is free to do as they wish during the meal or lunch period. DOL: Breaks and Meal Periods.
Nursing Mother Breaks
Vermont labor laws require employers, unless it would substantially disrupt their operations, to allow employees who are nursing mothers with reasonable time throughout the day to express breast milk for up to three (3) years after the birth of a child. Employers are not required to pay employees for nursing mother breaks. Employers must provide employees with private spaces, other than bathroom stalls, to express breast milk while on nursing mother breaks. Employers may not retaliate or discriminate against employees who take or attempt to take nursing mother breaks as permitted by law. VT Statute 21-305
Information about Vermont vacation leave laws may now be found on our Vermont Leave Laws page.
Information about Vermont sick leave laws may now be found on our Vermont Leave Laws page.
Information about Vermont holiday leave laws may now be found on our Vermont Leave Laws page.
Jury Duty Leave
Information about Vermont jury duty leave laws may now be found on our Vermont Leave Laws page.
Information about Vermont voting leave laws may now be found on our Vermont Leave Laws page.
Vermont labor laws do not require employers to provide employees with severance pay. If an employer chooses to provide severance benefits, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.
Under certain circumstances, Vermont residents may be eligible for unemployment benefits while they search for another job. You are required to certify that you are unemployed on a weekly basis to receive these benefits. See Vermont State Unemployment Benefits.