- Minimum wage
- Minimum Wage Calculator
- Tip minimum wage
- Tip pooling and sharing
- Subminimum wage
- Wyoming Minimum Wage Laws 2022 FAQs
- Other State’s Minimum Wage Information
Wyoming’s current minimum wage is $5.15. WY Statute 27-4-202(a).
Wyoming employers must also comply with federal minimum wage laws, which currently sets the federal minimum wage at $7.25. See FLSA: Minimum Wage.
If an employer chooses to pay employees minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage. In most instances in Wyoming, the federal minimum wage will apply as it generally guarantees a higher wage rate for employees than state law.
Minimum Wage Calculator
Normal HoursThis field is required
hours x $ = $
hours x $ = $
Weekly Earnings (40 hours)
Yearly Earnings (52 weeks):
Tip minimum wage
Wyoming’s minimum wage for tipped employees is $2.13.
Wyoming defines a tipped employee as an employee who customarily and regularly receives more than $30.00 monthly in tips. If an employer chooses to pay the tipped minimum wage, it must also ensure that the tipped employees receive the standard minimum wage when tipped wages earned are combined with tips received. If a tipped employee is not paid the standard minimum wage when tipped wages earned are combined with tips received, the employer must pay the employee the difference.
Tipped employees must provide their employers each month a daily record of tips which is required to be kept by such employees by the United States Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Such daily records establish proof of the tip amount received by the employee. Providing proof of a customary tipping percentage of sales or service can also be an acceptable form of proof of the amount of tips. WY Statute 27-4-202(b).
Tip pooling and sharing
Wyoming law does not allow employers to require tipped employees to participate in a tip pooling or tip sharing arrangement. WY Statute 27-4-507. The law is unclear regarding whether tipped employees may voluntarily agree to participate in a tip pooling or tip sharing arrangement.
Employees with disabilities
Wyoming minimum wage law does not allow employers to pay employees with disabilities a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.
Wyoming minimum wage laws allow employers to pay trainees under the age of 20 a subminimum rate of $4.25 for the first 90 consecutive days after the employer has initially employed them. WY Statute 27-4-202(c)
Wyoming minimum wage laws do not allow employers to pay apprentices a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.
Wyoming minimum wage laws do not allow employers to pay learners a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.
Wyoming minimum wage laws do not allow employers to pay student learners a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.
Wyoming minimum wage laws do not allow employers to pay student workers a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.
Wyoming Minimum Wage Laws 2022 FAQs
Does Wyoming have the lowest minimum wage?
Yes, unfortunately, Wyoming has the lowest state minimum wage in the country. However, it is not alone. It shares the spot with Georgia, which has a $5.15 hourly rate.
Research suggests that low wages are part of the South’s history. This “tradition” of dismal minimum wage even dates back to Civil War due to a persisting belief that this is the best step to create a positive business climate.
Fortunately, most workers have a slight reprieve. That’s because most businesses are subject to providing the federal minimum wage, thanks to Fair Labor Standards Act (or FLSA).
The FLSA was signed into law by Pres. Franklin Roosevelt back in 1938. It seeks to provide support and protection to American workers by giving them a living wage required by law.
Will there be minimum wage increases in Wyoming in 2022?
At the time of writing, there are no plans for a minimum wage rate increase in Wyoming this year. However, there are initiatives to raise employee wages. Hence, it would be wise for business owners to stay updated with minimum wage regulations and compliance adjustments.
What should business owners know about the minimum wage laws in Wyoming?
Wyoming’s minimum wage is a complex problem with various facets. The main issue remains to be the state’s minimum wage.
Consider this: other states have already started their wage adjustments to reach an hourly rate of $15. Wyoming’s rate is roughly only a third of this rate.
Even so, this rate is still not enough to meet an inflation-adjusted minimum wage, according to the Center for Economic and Policy Research. Their research has shown that a living wage today should be $24.
The gender wage gap matter should also be addressed. Unfortunately, the current labor arena still keeps decent employment from women.
This means that minimum wage rate changes will improve the quality of life for all workers and offer protection for female workers.
Finally, business owners should recognize that minimum wage matters. Providing a safe and enriching working environment is essential.
Employment benefits are vital for your own company and the economy in general. Fortunately, there are methods to make it easier to adjust to such changes, such as fixing your business pricing or your annual sales.
One simply needs to take the time and effort to make more informed business decisions and strategies.