- Minimum Wage Rate
- Minimum Wage Calculator
- Tip Minimum Wage
- Tip Pooling and Sharing
- Subminimum wage
- Other Details About Kansas Minimum Wage Laws
- Other State’s Minimum Wage Information
Minimum Wage Rate
The minimum wage rate in Kansas, which is the mandated federal minimum wage, is $7.25 per hour. KS Statute 44-1203
Also, employers in Kansas that the Fair Labor Standard Act does not cover need to adhere to minimum wage compliance for their employees.
Note that salaried employees must receive payment at least once a month from business owners.
This salary must be given during regular paydays. Schedule of paydays and any updates regarding minimum wage rate changes must also be given through advance notice.
As of 2022, there are no plans to have minimum wage increases in Kansas City.
Minimum Wage Calculator
Normal HoursThis field is required
hours x $ = $
hours x $ = $
Weekly Earnings (40 hours)
Yearly Earnings (52 weeks):
Tip Minimum Wage
The minimum wage for tipped employees is $2.13 per hour.
If an employer chooses to pay an employee the tipped minimum wage, it must also ensure that the employee earns the standard minimum wage when tipped wages earned are combined with tips received.If an employee’s tipped wages earned combined with tips received are not sufficient to meet the standard minimum wage threshold, the employer must pay the employee the difference. KS Statute 12-1203(b)
Tip Pooling and Sharing
Kansas minimum wage law does not address tip pooling or sharing.
Employees with Disabilities
Kansas minimum wage law does not allow employers to pay employees with disabilities a subminimum wage rate that is lower than the standard minimum wage.
Kansas minimum wage law does not allow employers to pay trainees a subminimum wage rate that is lower than the standard minimum wage.
Kansas minimum wage law does not allow employers to pay apprentices a subminimum wage rate that is lower than the standard minimum wage.
Kansas minimum wage law does not allow employers to pay learners a subminimum wage rate lower than the standard minimum wage.
Kansas minimum wage law does not allow employers to pay student learners a subminimum wage rate that is lower than the standard minimum wage.
Kansas minimum wage law does not allow employers to pay student workers a subminimum wage rate that is lower than the standard minimum wage.
Other Details About Kansas Minimum Wage Laws
Keep in mind these additional details regarding Kansas minimum wage laws:
Legal Advice or Other Inquiries
If you need to inquire whether the FLSA covers you and your employer in the Kansas state, you may contact Federal Wage and Hour.
Business owners cannot require their employees to participate in direct deposit, even though some employees might deem it more convenient. This is only possible if one works for the federal government.
Business owners can pay cash to their employees as a matter of company policy, as long as taxes are still withheld. Also, for each payment made by the employer, they must give the appropriate notice for the employee.
Minimum Wage Rate Increase
All employers are allowed to change their pay rates, provided they give ample time and notice and follow minimum wage rules mandated by federal law. Changes in pay done retroactively are prohibited.
As for a statewide minimum wage rate increase, it will vary according to the current federal minimum wage. Some states set a living wage for their hourly employees based on the annual inflation. This seeks to prevent the lowest minimum wage and even boost employee morale.
By law, employers are not required to place anything in a minimum wage employee’s pay stub. However, upon request, employees can seek to have itemized statements for every payroll period (ex: deductions).
All minimum wage workers in Kansas are not entitled to severance pay unless the employer makes it a company policy.
All in all, while this is the situation of minimum wage, not just in the state of Kansas, several economists and supporters of minimum wage increases make the case to raise the federal minimum rate within the next two years to $15.
The argument is that more struggling workers will benefit from such a move, though it is important to note that there must also be balanced in how the move will impact prices of services and goods in the country.