- Frequency of Wage Payments
- Manner of Wage Payments
- Direct Deposit
- Payroll Card
- Payment upon Separation from Employment
- Wages in Dispute
- Deductions from Wages
- Uniforms, Tools, and Other Equipment Necessary for Employment
- Pre-hire Medical, Physical, or Drug Tests
- Notice of Wage Reduction
- Statement of Wages (Pay Stub)
- Record Keeping Requirements
- Notice Requirements
Frequency of Wage Payments
An employer must pay all employees at least once per month on a payday designated by the employer. The employer’s payday cannot be more than 15 days after the end of the pay period. If the regular payday lands on a non-work day and the next workday is more than 15 days after the end of the pay period, the employer must pay employees on a workday preceding the normal payday. An employer may obtain an exemption from the ID Department of Labor from being required to pay employees within 15 days of the end of the pay period upon a showing of good cause. ID Statute 45-608
Manner of Wage Payments
An employer may pay wages by:
- check, or,
- direct deposit, with consent of the employee.
An employer may pay wages by direct deposit, so long as the employee has consented to the deposit. ID Statute 45-608
Idaho labor laws do not specifically permit employers to pay wages to employees by payroll card. If an employer were to pay an employee by payroll card, it is likely the rules for payment by direct deposit would apply. ID Statute 45-608
Payment upon Separation from Employment
An employer must pay an employee who are paid on an hourly or salary basis upon separation from employment, regardless of the reason, all wages due the employee by the earlier of:
- the next regularly scheduled payday, or
- within 10 days of such separation from employment, not including weekends or holidays.
An employer must pay an employee who is not paid on an hourly or salary basis upon separation from employment, regardless of the reason, at least the minimum wage for all hours worked in the pay period immediately preceding layoff and termination of employment. The employer must pay the employee any additionally owed wages no later than the next regularly scheduled payday.
This requirement applies whether the employer discharged or laid off the employee or the employee quit or resigned due to a labor dispute (strike).
If an employee submits a written request to an employer for payment of wages after separation from employment, an employer must pay the employee all wages due within 48 hours of receipt of the request, not including weekends or holidays.
Upon showing of good cause, an employer can obtain from the Idaho Department of Labor an extension for payment of wages upon separation from employment.
Wages in Dispute
In case of a dispute between an employer and an employee as to the amount of wages due an employee, the employer must timely pay, without condition, all wages, or parts thereof, conceded by the employer to be due, leaving to the employee all remedies the employee might otherwise be entitled. The acceptance by an employee of payment of uncontested wages does not constitute a release or accord and satisfaction with respect to the disputed amount. ID Statute 45-611
Deductions from Wages
An employer may not withhold or deduct any portion of an employee’s wages unless:
- required or authorized by law, or
- the employee consents in writing.
An employer, with the written consent of an employee, may deduct from an employee’s wages:
- cash shortages,
- damage or lost property,
- the cost of uniforms or necessary equipment,
- dishonored or bad checks, or
- any similar deductions.
Uniforms, Tools, and Other Equipment Necessary for Employment
Idaho does not have any laws prohibiting an employer from requiring an employee to purchase a uniform, tools, or other items necessary for employment. An employer would be required to have the written consent of the employee to deduct the cost of the uniform, tools, or other items from the employee’s wages.
Pre-hire Medical, Physical, or Drug Tests
Idaho does not have any laws prohibiting an employer from requiring an applicant or employee to pay the cost of a medical examination or the cost of furnishing any records required by the employer as a condition of employment.
Notice of Wage Reduction
An employer must give an employee notice of any wage reduction prior to any work being performed by the employee at the reduced wage rate. An employee can request an employer provide the notice of the wage reduction in writing. ID Statute 45-610
Statement of Wages (Pay Stub)
An employer must provide employees with a statement of the deductions made from their paycheck each pay period in which deductions are made. ID Statute 45-609
Record Keeping Requirements
An employer must keep employment records for a minimum of three (3) years from the last date the employee worked for the employer. ID Statute 45-610
An employer must inform each employee at the time of hire what their rate of pay will be and what the payday will be. An employee can request the employer provide this information in writing. ID Statute 45-610