Quantcast

Pennsylvania - Wage and Hour Laws

Browse To

 

Minimum Wage

Pennsylvania's current minimum wage is $7.25.
For more information on Pennsylvania's minimum wage laws, visit our Pennsylvania Minimum Wage Laws page, which includes topics such as minimum wage, tip minimum wage, tip sharing and pooling, and subminimum wages.
Related topic covered on other pages include:

Overtime

Pennsylvania requires an employer to pay overtime to employees, unless otherwise exempt, at the rate of 1½ times the employee's regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek. PA Dept. of Labor: Wage and Hour FAQs. See FLSA: Overtime for more information regarding overtime requirements.

Back To Top

Meals and Breaks

Pennsylvania employers are required to provide a thirty (30) minute break period to employees ages fourteen (14) through seventeen (17) who work five (5) or more consecutive hours. Pennsylvania Stat. 43:40.3(a). Employers are not required to provide breaks to employees eighteen (18) and over. PA Dept. of Labor: Wage and Hour FAQs. If an employer chooses to provide a break and it lasts less than twenty (20) minutes, it must be paid. If an employer provides a meal period, it does not need to be paid if the employee does not work during the meal period and it lasts more than twenty (20) minutes. Pennsylvania Code §231.1
Back To Top

Vacation Leave

Information about Pennsylvania vacation leave laws may now be found on our Pennsylvania Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Sick Leave

Information about Pennsylvania sick leave laws may now be found on our Pennsylvania Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Holiday Leave

Information about Pennsylvania holiday leave laws may now be found on our Pennsylvania Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Jury Duty Leave

Information about Pennsylvania jury duty leave laws may now be found on our Pennsylvania Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Voting Leave

Information about Pennsylvania voting leave laws may now be found on our Pennsylvania Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Severance Pay

Pennsylvania law does not require employers to provide employees with severance pay. PA Dept. of Labor: Wage and Hour FAQs. If an employer chooses to provide severance benefits, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.
Back To Top