- Frequency of Wage Payments
- Manner of Wage Payments
- Direct Deposit
- Payroll Card
- Payment upon Separation from Employment
- Wages in Dispute
- Deductions from Wages
- Uniforms, Tools, and Other Equipment Necessary for Employment
- Pre-hire Medical, Physical, or Drug Tests
- Notice of Wage Reduction
- Statement of Wages (Pay Stub)
- Record Keeping Requirements
- Notice Requirements
Frequency of Wage Payments
An employer in one of the following four industries: oil and gas, mining, manufacturers, and public service corporations, must pay employees no less frequently than twice per month on regularly scheduled paydays. If an employer in any of these industries fails to designate paydays, it must pay employees on the 1st and 16th of the month.
Employers in the oil and gas, mining, and manufacturing industries must pay employees, except clerical and sales staff, within 10 days of the end of the pay period. Public service corporations must pay their employees within 15 days of the end of the pay period. LA Statute 23:633
There is no Louisiana law concerning the timeliness of payment to employees of other industries. An employer would be permitted to establish pay periods and paydays of its choosing.
Manner of Wage Payments
Louisiana does not have any laws dictating how an employer must pay employees their wages.
Because Louisiana does not have any law prohibiting direct deposit, employers are likely permitted to use direct deposit to pay employees. It is uncertain whether an employer may lawfully require an employee to be paid by way of direct deposit.
Because Louisiana does not have any law prohibiting payment of wages by payroll card, employers are likely permitted to use payroll cards to pay employees. It is uncertain whether an employer may lawfully require an employee to be paid by way of a payroll card.
Payment upon Separation from Employment
Employees who are fired, discharged, terminated, or laid off
When an employer discharges or lays off an employee, the employer must pay the employee all wages due by the next regular payday or within 15 days, whichever occurs first. LA Statute 23:631
Employees who quit or resign
When an employee quits, an employer must pay the employee all wages due by the regular payday on which the employee would have been paid if employment had continued or within 15 days, whichever occurs first. LA Statute 23:631
Employees who are suspended or resigns due to a labor dispute (strike)
An employer must pay an employee who resigns due to a labor dispute by the regular payday on which the employee would have been paid if employment had continued or within 15 days, whichever occurs first. LA Statute 23:631
Wages in Dispute
If there is a dispute between the employer and the employee as to the amount of wages due upon separation from employment, the employer must timely pay the undisputed portion of the amount due. LA Statute 23:631
Deductions from Wages
An employer may not fine an employee or withhold or deduct fines from an employee’s wages, unless:
- the employee willfully or negligently damages goods or works,
- the employee willfully or negligently damages or breaks the employer’s property, or
- the employee is convicted or pleads guilty to theft of the employer’s funds.
Thus, an employer may not deduct from an employees wages, except when the above conditions are met:
- cash shortages
- breakage, damage, or loss of the employer’s property
- required uniforms
- required tools
- other items necessary for employment
Uniforms, Tools, and Other Equipment Necessary for Employment
Louisiana does not have any laws prohibiting an employer from requiring an employee to purchase a uniform, tools, or other items necessary for employment.
Pre-hire Medical, Physical, or Drug Tests
An employer may not require any employee or applicant for employment to pay the cost of a medical examination or the cost of furnishing any records required by the employer as a condition of employment. LA Statute 23:897
However, an employer may require an employee who earns at least $1 per hour more than the federal minimum wage to sign a contract in which the employee agrees to repay the employer for the cost of an pre-employment medical exam or drug test if the employee resigns within 90 working days of the first day of employment. LA Statute 23:634
Notice of Wage Reduction
An employer must inform employees prior to making a change to the wages they will be paid, the method in which they will be paid and the frequency of payment. LA Statute 23:633
Statement of Wages (Pay Stub)
Louisiana does not have any laws requiring employers to provide employees at the time of payment any notice of wages paid, wage rates, deductions, or other wage payment information.
Record Keeping Requirements
An employer must keep for at least one year a true and accurate record of:
- the name, address, and occupation of each person employed by him,
- the daily and weekly hours worked by the employee, and
- the wages paid each pay period to each employee.
An employer must inform employees at the time of hire what wages they will be paid, the method in which they will be paid and the frequency of payment. An employer must also inform employees of changes to any of the above-listed items prior to making the change. LA Statute 23:633