Louisiana Child Labor Laws


Louisiana stamp

Louisiana child labor laws set forth the rules and limitations regarding the days and time children under the age of 18 years old may work in Louisiana. They also clarify and limit the types of work children under the age of 14 and youth who are 14, 15, 16, and 17 year olds may work. It is also important to remember that businesses and youth workers must comply with the federal child labor laws set forth in the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Below is information about Louisiana child labor law rules and limitations.

How old do you have to be to work in Louisiana?

Under Louisiana child labor laws, youth must be 14-years-old or older to get a job and work in Louisiana with a few exceptions. The most common exception is for children 12 years old or older who works under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian who owns or is a partner in the business where they will work. LA Statutes 23: 151 to 258, LA Workforce Commission – Minors


What days can a minor work in Louisiana?

Louisiana child labor laws do not limit the days of the week youth may work in Louisiana. However, Louisiana rules limit the times during a day a minor may work. LA Statutes 23: 151 to 258, LA Workforce Commission – Minors


What times during the day can a minor work in Louisiana?

The times during a day a minor may work in Louisiana varies based on 1) whether they are under 16 year old or not, and 2) whether the work will be during school weeks or non-school weeks.

For youth that are 17-years old, Louisiana child labor laws restrict the times they may work before a school day to 5 a.m. to 12 a.m. unless the 17-year-old has graduated from high school. Louisiana child labor laws do not restrict the times 17-year-olds may work on days before a non-school day or who have graduated from high school.

For youth that are 16-years old, Louisiana child labor laws restrict the times they may work before a school day to 5 a.m. to 11 p.m. unless the 16-year-old has graduated from high school. Louisiana child labor laws do not restrict the times 16-year-olds may work on days before a non-school day or who have graduated from high school.

AgeDay before School DayDay before Non-School Day
What times can a 16-year-old work?5 a.m. to 11 p.m.No restriction
What times can a 17-year-old work?5 a.m. to 12 a.m.No restriction

For youth that are 14-years-old and 15-years old, Louisiana child labor laws restrict the times during the day in which they work depending whether school is in session, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., or school is not in session, 7 a.m. to 9 p.m.

AgeSchool Weeks
(Labor Day to June 1)
Non-School Weeks
(June 1 to Labor Day)
What times can a 14-year-old work?7 a.m. until 7 p.m.7 a.m. until 9 p.m.
What times can a 15-year-old work?7 a.m. until 7 p.m.7 a.m. until 9 p.m.

LA Statutes 23: 151 to 258, LA Workforce Commission – Minors

The FLSA also restricts the times youth may work each workday. When Louisiana child labor laws are more restrictive than the federal laws, the Louisiana rules apply.

AgeSchool Weeks
(Labor Day to June 1)
Non-School Weeks
(June 1 to Labor Day)
What times can a 14-year-old work?7 a.m. until 7 p.m.7 a.m. until 9 p.m.
What times can a 15-year-old work?7 a.m. until 7 p.m.7 a.m. until 9 p.m.
What times can a 16-year-old work?No restrictionNo restriction
What times can a 17-year-old work?No restrictionNo restriction

How many hours can a minor work each day in Louisiana?

For youth that are 16-years-old and 17-years-old, Louisiana child labor laws do not restrict how many hours they may work in a workday, except an employer may not require a minor to work when the minor is supposed to be in school.

Moreover, under Louisiana child labor laws, children that are 14-years-old and 15-years-old may work no more than 3 hours on a school day and 8 hours on a non-school day.

Max Hours Work Each DaySchool daysNon-school days
How many hours can a 14-year-old work each day?38
How many hours can a 15-year-old work each day?38
How many hours can a 16-year-old work each day?No restrictionNo restriction
How many hours can a 17-year-old work each day?No restrictionNo restriction

LA Statutes 23: 151 to 258, LA Workforce Commission – Minors, see also FLSA


How many hours can a minor work each week in Louisiana?

For youth that are 16-years-old and 17-years-old, Louisiana child labor laws do not restrict how many hours they may work in a workweek, except an employer may not require a minor to work when the minor is supposed to be in school.

Moreover, under Louisiana child labor laws, children that are 14-years-old and 15-years-old may work no more than 18 hours during a school week and 40 hours during on a non-school week. Also, 14 and 15-year-olds may not more more than 6 consecutive days.

Max Hours Worked Each WorkweekSchool Weeks
(Labor Day to June 1)
Non-School Weeks
(June 1 to Labor Day)
How many hours can a 14-year-old work each day?1840
How many hours can a 15-year-old work each day?1840
How many hours can a 16-year-old work each day?No restrictionNo restriction
How many hours can a 17-year-old work each day?No restrictionNo restriction

LA Statutes 23: 151 to 258, LA Workforce Commission – Minors

The FLSA also restricts the how many hours a youth may work each workweek. When Louisiana child labor laws are more restrictive than the federal laws, the Louisiana rules apply.

Max Hours Worked Each Workweek
Federal Law
School Weeks
(Labor Day to June 1)
Federal Law
Non-School Weeks
(June 1 to Labor Day)
How many hours can a 14-year-old work each week?1840
How many hours can a 15-year-old work each week?1840
How many hours can a 16-year-old work each week?No restrictionNo restriction
How many hours can a 17-year-old work each week?No restrictionNo restriction

What kinds of jobs can a minor work in Louisiana?

In Louisiana, youth under 16 years old may not work in the following jobs:

in connection with a poolroom or billiard roomin connection with power-driven machineryin any manufacturing or processing establishment, or in any manufacturing, mechanical, or processing occupation
in the close proximity of any lounge or other location where alcoholic beverages are sold with some exceptionsin the distribution or delivery of goods or messages for any person engaged in the business of transmitting or delivering of goods or messages.as a rope or wire walker, gymnast, wrestler, contortionist, stunt rider, or acrobat upon any bicycle or other similar mechanical vehicle or contrivance
in any illegal, indecent, or immoral exhibition or practicein the exhibition of such minor if they has a mental illness or an intellectual disability, or presents the appearance of any deformity or unnatural physical formation or developmentin any practice, exhibition, or place, dangerous or injurious to the life, limbs, health, or morals of the minor
in any other occupation for which a higher minimum age is required

In Louisiana, youth under 18 years old may not work in the following jobs except when serving a voluntary apprenticeship.

in oiling, cleaning, or wiping machinery or shafting, or in applying belts to pulleysin or about any mine or quarryin or about places where stone cutting or polishing is done
in or about any plant manufacturing explosives or articles containing explosive components; or in the use or transportation of the samein or about iron or steel manufacturing plants, ore reduction works, smelters, foundries, forging shops, hot rolling mills, or in any other place in which the heat treatment of metals is donein the operation of machinery used in the cold rolling of heavy metals, or in the operation of power-driven machinery for punching, shearing, stamping, bending, or planing metals
in or about saw mills or cooperage stock millsin the operation of power-driven woodworking machines, or off-bearing from circular sawsin logging operations
as drivers of any motor vehicle on a public road if they are minors sixteen years of age or younger. Minors seventeen years of age or older may be employed, permitted, or suffered to work as drivers of a motor vehicle only under the following restrictions with some exceptionsin the operation of passenger or freight elevators or hoisting machinesin spray painting or in occupations involving exposure to lead or its compounds, or to dangerous or poisonous dyes and chemicals
in any place or establishment in which the sale of alcoholic beverages constitutes its main business, unless the minor is a musician performing in a band on the premises under written contract with the holder of the alcoholic beverage permit for a specified time period and is under direct supervision of his parent or legal guardian during such timein any other place of employment or in any other occupation that the secretary shall, after a public hearing thereon, determine hazardous or injurious to the life, health, safety or welfare of such minorsany occupations found hazardous by the FLSA that prohibits the employment of minors

LA Statutes 23: 151 to 258, LA Workforce Commission – Minors, see also FLSA


Does a teen need to have a work permit or certificate to work in Louisiana?

Louisiana child labor laws requires all teens under 18 years of age to have an employment certificate (work permit) to work in Louisiana. To obtain an employment certificate, a teen must:

  • Fill out the applicant information portion of the employment certificate which include the written consent of their parent or guardian
  • Have their prospective employer fill out their portion of the employment certificate
  • Present the completed for along with proof of age to an authorized issuing location, which may be their school board or high school.

An employer who employees a teen under 18 years old must keep a copy of the authorized employment certificate on file.

LA Statutes 23: 151 to 258, LA Workforce Commission – Minors


Are youth workers entitled to rest breaks or meal breaks?

In Louisiana, employers are required to provide minors with a unpaid meal period lasting 30 minutes or more if the minor works 5 consecutive hours in a shift. LA Statutes 23: 151 to 258, LA Workforce Commission – Minors

Employment Law Updates
Laws change in a moment. Sign up to stay informed.
Employment Law Updates
Laws change in a moment. Sign up to stay informed.

Have employees in more than one state? SUBSCRIBE HERE!

Have employees in more than one state? SUBSCRIBE HERE!