Oregon Child Labor Laws


Oregon stamp

Oregon child labor laws set forth the rules and limitations regarding the days and time children under the age of 18 years old may work in Oregon. They also clarify and limit the types of work children under the age of 14 and youth who are 14, 15, 16, and 17 year olds may work. It is also important to remember that businesses and youth workers must comply with the federal child labor laws set forth in the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Below is information about Oregon child labor law rules and limitations.

How old do you have to be to work in Oregon?

Under Oregon child labor laws, youth must be 14-years-old or older to get a job and work in Oregon with a few exceptions. There are a few exceptions for children under the age 14. The exemptions for all children include:

  • certain agricultural work
  • entertainment work with a permit

OR Statutes 653.010 to 653.991, OR Admin. Rules 839-021-0006 to 839-021-0500, OR Bureau of Labor & Industries – Minor Workers


What days can a minor work in Oregon?

Oregon child labor laws do not limit the days of the week youth may work in Oregon. However, Oregon rules limit the times during a day a minor may work. OR Statutes 653.010 to 653.991, OR Admin. Rules 839-021-0006 to 839-021-0500, OR Bureau of Labor & Industries – Minor Workers


What times during the day can a minor work in Oregon?

The times during a day a minor may work in Oregon varies based on 1) whether they are under 16 year old or not, and 2) whether the work will be during school weeks or non-school weeks.

For youth that are 16-years-old and 17-years-old, Oregon child labor laws do not restrict the times during a workday in which they may work, except an employer may not require a minor to work when the minor is supposed to be in school.

For youth that are 14-years-old and 15-years old, Oregon child labor laws restrict the times during the day in which they work depending whether school is in session, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., or school is not in session, 7 a.m. to 9 p.m.

AgeSchool Weeks
(Labor Day to June 1)
Non-School Weeks
(June 1 to Labor Day)
What times can a 14-year-old work?7 a.m. until 7 p.m.7 a.m. until 9 p.m.
What times can a 15-year-old work?7 a.m. until 7 p.m.7 a.m. until 9 p.m.
What times can a 16-year-old work?No restrictionNo restriction
What times can a 17-year-old work?No restrictionNo restriction

OR Statutes 653.010 to 653.991, OR Admin. Rules 839-021-0006 to 839-021-0500, OR Bureau of Labor & Industries – Minor Workers, see also FLSA


How many hours can a minor work each day in Oregon?

For youth that are 16-years-old and 17-years-old, Oregon child labor laws do not restrict how many hours they may work in a workday, except an employer may not require a minor to work when the minor is supposed to be in school.

Moreover, under Oregon child labor laws, children that are 14-years-old and 15-years-old may work no more than 3 hours on a school day and 8 hours on a non-school day.

Max Hours Work Each DaySchool daysNon-school days
How many hours can a 14-year-old work each day?38
How many hours can a 15-year-old work each day?38
How many hours can a 16-year-old work each day?No restrictionNo restriction
How many hours can a 17-year-old work each day?No restrictionNo restriction

OR Statutes 653.010 to 653.991, OR Admin. Rules 839-021-0006 to 839-021-0500, OR Bureau of Labor & Industries – Minor Workers, see also FLSA


How many hours can a minor work each week in Oregon?

Moreover, under Oregon child labor laws, children that are 14-years-old and 15-years-old may work no more than 44 hours during school weeks and non-school weeks.

Moreover, under Oregon child labor laws, children that are 14-years-old and 15-years-old may work no more than 18 hours during school weeks and 40 hours during non-school weeks.

Max Hours Worked Each WorkweekSchool Weeks
(Labor Day to June 1)
Non-School Weeks
(June 1 to Labor Day)
How many hours can a 14-year-old work each day?1840
How many hours can a 15-year-old work each day?1840
How many hours can a 16-year-old work each day?4444
How many hours can a 17-year-old work each day?4444

OR Statutes 653.010 to 653.991, OR Admin. Rules 839-021-0006 to 839-021-0500, OR Bureau of Labor & Industries – Minor Workers

The FLSA also restricts the how many hours a youth may work each workweek. When Oregon child labor laws are more restrictive than the federal laws, the Oregon rules apply.

Max Hours Worked Each Workweek
Federal Law
School Weeks
(Labor Day to June 1)
Federal Law
Non-School Weeks
(June 1 to Labor Day)
How many hours can a 14-year-old work each week?1840
How many hours can a 15-year-old work each week?1840
How many hours can a 16-year-old work each week?No restrictionNo restriction
How many hours can a 17-year-old work each week?No restrictionNo restriction

What kinds of jobs can a minor work in Oregon?

In Oregon, youth under 16 years old may not work in the following jobs, except as part of a regular work-training program.

Manufacturing/processing occupationsWork in locations where power-driven machinery is usedWork in workshops or warehouses
Work in or on boats or commercial docksLifeguard/swim occupations except for trained/certified 15 year-
olds
Work around construction sites and equipment
Using pressure washersCooking with open flame grill, manual fryer, broiler, or surface or oil more than 100 degreesUsing pizza, bakery or convection ovens
Work in connection with golf cartsUsing ladders, scaffolds or substitutesOutside window cleaning above ground
Work in grain elevatorsWork in gravel or sand plants or bunkersLand clearing
Lumber loadingWashing, loading or unloading trucks (other than personal, non-powered tools/items)Contact with power mowers/cutters/blowers
Sign waving, unless in front of businessEmployment in commercial laundriesWelding or soldering work
Occupations in connection with mechanical amusementsSurveyingWood cutting/sawing
Office work only in auto wrecking yards, junk dealer, water works, lumbering, motor vehicle (transportation) operations

In Oregon, youth under 18 years old may not work in the following jobs except when serving a voluntary apprenticeship.

Contact with/operating power-driven food slicers, grinders and
choppers (includes cleaning, even if unassembled)
Motor vehicle driving, including motor vehicle outside helpers,
(except under limited circumstances for minors 17 years of age)
Operating, repairing and cleaning bakery machines
Lumber mill, logging and sawmilling occupationsTasks performed in connection with active forest firesOperating balers, metal strap banders and compactors
Operating power-driven hand drills; sanders; woodworking machinesExcavating and working in trenches over 4’ in depthRoofing and related occupations
Operating power-driven hoisting apparatus and liftsManufacturing, storing and using explosivesOperating power-driven metal forming, punching and shearing
machines
Occupations in connection with power-driven meat processing
machinery
Meat and poultry slaughtering; packing, processing or renderingContact with circular, chain, band saws and guillotine shears
Operating commercial mixersUsing power nail/impact guns, wire stitchers and fastenersAll mining occupations
Operating power-driven paper products machinesWrecking, demolition, and ship-breaking operationsManufacturing brick, tile and kindred products
Messenger services between 10:00 PM and 5:00 AM

OR Statutes 653.010 to 653.991, OR Admin. Rules 839-021-0006 to 839-021-0500, OR Bureau of Labor & Industries – Minor Workers

Under the FLSA, youth under 18 years old may not work in the following hazardous jobs except when serving a voluntary apprenticeship, work-training program, or student-learner program.


Does a teen need to have a work permit or certificate to work in Oregon?

Oregon child labor laws require all employers to apply for and obtain an annual employment certificate (work permit) for each minor it employs and must renew the employment certificate each year. The employer may an employment certificate application at the Oregon’s Employment Certificate application site. An employer must also provide notice of any change to a current employment certificate within 15 days of the changes having been made.


Are youth workers entitled to rest breaks or meal breaks?

In Oregon, employers are required to provide minors the meal and rest breaks depending on how long they work. OR Meal and Rest Breaks

Employment Law Updates
Laws change in a moment. Sign up to stay informed.
Employment Law Updates
Laws change in a moment. Sign up to stay informed.

Have employees in more than one state? SUBSCRIBE HERE!

Have employees in more than one state? SUBSCRIBE HERE!