New Mexico State Holidays

The State of New Mexico has designated several days each calendar year as state holidays. The implications of these state holidays on public employers and private employers are discussed below.

The following list contains the state holidays recognized by New Mexico.

  • New Year’s Day (January 1)
  • Martin Luther King’s Birthday (3rd Monday in January)
  • Washington’s and Lincoln’s Birthday (3rd Monday in February)
  • Memorial Day (last Monday in May)
  • Independence Day (July 4)
  • Labor Day (1st Monday in September)
  • Indigenous Peoples’ day (2nd Monday in October)
  • Veterans’/Armistice Day (November 11)
  • Thanksgiving Day (4th Thursday in November)
  • Christmas Day (December 25)

MN Statute 12-5-2

If a holiday falls on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday. MN Statute 12-5-3

Public employers

New Mexico statutes do not specifically grant public employees paid holiday leave.

Private employers

Private employers in New Mexico are not required to close on any of the listed holidays. Additionally, private employers are not required to allow employees to take either paid or unpaid time off on the holidays nor are they required to pay employees any premium wage rates to employees who work on the holidays. Private employers may establish policies or practices granting employees time off on any of the listed holidays or agree to pay premium wage rates to employees who work on those days. Employers who establish such policies or practices may be required to comply with them.

Find out more about New Mexico’s Leave Laws.

Federal Holidays

Click here for a list of federal holidays.