Nevada Child Labor Laws


Nevada stamp

Nevada child labor laws set forth the rules and limitations regarding the days and time children under the age of 18 years old may work in Nevada. They also clarify and limit the types of work children under the age of 14 and youth who are 14, 15, 16, and 17 year olds may work. It is also important to remember that businesses and youth workers must comply with the federal child labor laws set forth in the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Below is information about Nevada child labor law rules and limitations.

How old do you have to be to work in Nevada?

Under Nevada child labor laws, youth must be 14-years-old or older to get a job and work in Nevada with a few exceptions. Children under the age of 14 may work in Nevada only if they have written permission from a district judge of the county where the child resides or an authorized juvenile master, referee, or probation officer. Also,

NV Statutes 609.185 to 609.652


What days can a minor work in Nevada?

Nevada child labor laws do not limit the days of the week youth may work in Nevada. However, Nevada rules limit the times during a day a minor may work.


What times during the day can a minor work in Nevada?

The times during a day a minor may work in Nevada varies based on 1) whether they are under 16 year old or not, and 2) whether the work will be during school weeks or non-school weeks.

Nevada child labor laws do not restrict the times during a workday in which minors under 18 may work, except an employer may not require a minor to work when the minor is supposed to be in school.

Unlike Nevada child labor laws, federal child labor laws restrict the time during a workday 14 and 15-year-olds may work. The FLSA restricts the times during the day in which 14 and 15-year-olds may work depending whether the times are during school weeks, 7 a.m. to 7 p.m., or non-school weeks, 7 a.m. to 9 p.m.

AgeSchool Weeks
(Labor Day to June 1)
Non-School Weeks
(June 1 to Labor Day)
What times can a 14-year-old work?7 a.m. until 7 p.m.7 a.m. until 9 p.m.
What times can a 15-year-old work?7 a.m. until 7 p.m.7 a.m. until 9 p.m.
What times can a 16-year-old work?No restrictionNo restriction
What times can a 17-year-old work?No restrictionNo restriction

NV Statutes 609.185 to 609.652, FLSA


How many hours can a minor work each day in Nevada?

Nevada child labor laws do not restrict the number of hours 17 and 18-year-olds may work in workday.

Under Nevada child labor laws, minors who are 14 and 15-year-olds may not work more than 8 hours in a 24-hour period.

AgeMax Hours Work Each Day
How many hours can a 14-year-old work each day?8
How many hours can a 15-year-old work each day?8
How many hours can a 16-year-old work each day?No restriction
How many hours can a 17-year-old work each day?No restriction

Federal child labor laws have more strict rules than Nevada regarding the number of hours 14 and 15 year olds can work in a work day. Businesses and teens must comply with the stricter rule for school days set forth by the federal FLSA.

AgeMax Hours Work Each Day
(School days)
Max Hours Work Each Day
(Non-school days)
How many hours can a 14-year-old work each day?38
How many hours can a 15-year-old work each day?38
How many hours can a 16-year-old work each day?No restrictionNo restriction
How many hours can a 17-year-old work each day?No restrictionNo restriction

NV Statutes 609.185 to 609.652, FLSA


How many hours can a minor work each week in Nevada?

Nevada child labor laws do not restrict the number of hours 17 and 18-year-olds may work in workweek.

Under Nevada child labor laws, minors who are 14 and 15-year-olds may not work more than 48 hours in a workweek.

Under federal child labor laws, however, children that are 14-years-old and 15-years-old may work no more than 24 hours in a workweek during school weeks and 48 hours during non-school weeks.

Age – Max Hours Worked Each WeekNevada Law
Federal Law
School Weeks
(Labor Day to June 1)
Federal Law
Non-School Weeks
(June 1 to Labor Day)
How many hours can a 14-year-old work each week?401840
How many hours can a 15-year-old work each week?401840
How many hours can a 16-year-old work each week?No restrictionNo restrictionNo restriction
How many hours can a 17-year-old work each week?No restrictionNo restrictionNo restriction

NV Statutes 609.185 to 609.652, FLSA


What kinds of jobs can a minor work in Nevada?

In Nevada, youth 14 years old and older may not work in the following jobs.

The preparation of any composition in which dangerous or poisonous acids are usedThe manufacture of goods for immoral purposesAny glass furnace, smelter, the outside erection and repair of electric wires, the running or management of elevators, lifts or hoisting machines, or oiling hazardous or dangerous machinery in motion
The manufacture of paints, colors or white leadAny mine, coal breaker, quarry, smelter, ore reduction works, laundry, tobacco warehouse, cigar factory or other factory where tobacco is manufactured or preparedSwitch tending, gate tending, or track repairing
Dipping, drying or packing matchesAny distillery, brewery or any other establishment where malt or alcoholic liquors are manufactured, packed, wrapped or bottleda brakeman, fireman, engineer, motorman or conductor upon any railroad
establishments where nitroglycerin, dynamite, dualin, guncotton, gunpowder or other high or dangerous explosives are manufactured, compounded or storedany other employment declared by the Labor Commissioner to be dangerous to the lives or limbs, or injurious to the health or morals

In Nevada, youth 18 years old and older may not work in the following jobs.

In any indecent or immoral exhibition or practiceAs a messenger for delivering letters, telegrams, packages or bundles to any house of prostitution or assignationIn any area of a casino where there is gaming or where the sale of alcoholic beverages is the primary commercial activity unless the minor is in the casino area to provide entertainment pursuant to an employment contract
In any practice or exhibition dangerous or injurious to life, limb, health or moralsIn any public dance hall within this State where alcoholic beverages are dispensed

NV Statutes 609.185 to 609.652

Under the FLSA child labor laws, employees under 16 years old may not work in jobs that are considered hazardous. Here is a list of the jobs that are considered hazardous.

manufacturing, including occupations requiring the performance of any duties in work rooms or places where goods are manufacturedoperating motor vehicles or serving as a helper on a motor vehicleworking in freezers and meat coolers, unless it is only momentarily to retrieve items (see above)public messenger service
mining, including occupations requiring the performance of any duties in work rooms or places where goods are minedriding on a motor vehicle except in those cases where is explicitly permitted (see above)preparing meats for sale except in those cases explicitly permitted (see above)occupations in connection with transporting people or property by rail, highway, air, water, pipeline, or other means, except office work (including ticket office) or sales work if it does not involve performing any duties on trains, motor vehicles, aircraft, vessels, or other media of transportation
processing, including occupations requiring the performance of any duties in work rooms or places where goods are processedoutside window washing if it involves working from window sillsyouth peddlingoccupations in connection with warehousing and storage, except office work or sales work
operating, tending, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling, or repairing hoisting apparatuswork requiring the use of ladders, scaffolds, or similar equipmentloading and unloading of goods or property onto or from motor vehicles, railroad cars, or conveyors, except the loading and unloading of personal non-power-driven hand tools, personal protective equipment, and personal items to and from motor vehicles (see above)occupations in connection with communications and public utilities. except office work or sales work
work in or around boiler or engine rooms or in connection with maintaining or repairing the establishment, machines, or equipmentbaking and cooking activities except in those cases explicitly permitted (see above)catching and cooping of poultry in preparation for transport or for marketoccupations in connection with construction, including demolition and repair, except office work or sales work if it does not involve performing duties at the actual site of construction operations.
operating, tending, setting up, adjusting, cleaning, oiling, or repairing power-driven machinery, including but not limited to lawn mowers, golf carts, all-terrain vehicles, trimmers, cutters, weed-eaters, edgers, food slicers, food grinders, food choppers, food processors, food cutters, and food mixers

FLSA

Under the FLSA child labor laws, employees under 18 years old may not work in jobs that are considered hazardous. Here is a list of the jobs that are considered hazardous.

manufacturing or storing explosives or articles containing explosive componentsoperating sawmills, lath mills, shingle mills, or cooperage stock millsoperating power-driven meat-processing machines and occupations involving slaughtering, meat and poultry packing, processing, or renderingoperating power-driven woodworking machines
motor-vehicle driver and outside helperwork involving exposure to radioactive substances and to ionizing radiationsoperating of bakery machineswrecking, demolition, and shipbreaking operations
coal mine occupationsoperating power-driven hoisting apparatusoperating balers, compactors, and paper-products machinesroofing operations and on or about a roof
forest fire fighting and prevention, timber tract occupations, and forestry service occupationsoperating power-driven metal forming, punching, and shearing machinesmanufacturing brick, tile, and kindred productsexcavation operations
logging occupationsminingoperating circular saws, band saws, guillotine shears, chain saws, reciprocating saws, wood chippers, and abrasive cutting discs

FLSA


Does a teen need to have a work permit or certificate to work in Nevada?

Nevada child labor laws do not require teens to a have work permit to work in Nevada. This includes teens who are 14- and 15-year-olds.

Under the FLSA, federal child labor laws allow minors to obtain an age certificate. Employers who rely on an unexpired federal age certificate will not be found that it employed an under age minor based on the work they are performing. FLSA – Age Certificates


Are youth workers entitled to rest breaks or meal breaks?

In Nevada, employers are required to provide all employees, including employees under the 18 years of age, with meal and rest breaks. For more information, visit our Nevada Labor Laws page.

Employment Law Updates
Laws change in a moment. Sign up to stay informed.
Employment Law Updates
Laws change in a moment. Sign up to stay informed.

Have employees in more than one state? SUBSCRIBE HERE!

Have employees in more than one state? SUBSCRIBE HERE!