Oregon Employment and Labor Law Updates 2016



October 2016

None



September 2016

September 30 – Portland issued regulations implementing its ban-the-box ordinance

On September 30, 2016, Portland issued regulation implementing its ban-the-box ordinance. The ban-the-box ordinance which took effect on July 1, 2016, limits an employer’s ability to ask for and use an applicants criminal history in hiring decisions.

For more information, read Portland Ban-the-Box Regulations, Criminal History Matrix, and Sample Notice of Rescission of Conditional Offer of Employment.


August 2016

None



July 2016

July 1 – Oregon minimum wage increased.

On July 1, 2016, Oregon’s minimum wage increased throughout the state.

For more information about the increase, visit our Oregon Minimum Wage page.

July 1 – Portland’s ban-the-box ordinance goes into effect.

On July 1, 2016, Portland’s ban-the-box ordinance goes into effect. The ban-the-box ordinance prohibits employers from excluding applicants from employment solely because of their criminal history and may only consider an applicant’s criminal history in limited circumstances after a conditional offer of employment has been made.

For more information, read Portland Ban-the-Box Ordinance 23.10.



June 2016

None



May 2016

None


April 2016

None


March 2016

March 2 – Gov. Brown signed a law increasing Oregon’s minimum wage

On March 2, 2016, Gov. Brown signed a law providing for increases to Oregon’s minimum wage. The minimum wage increases begin on July 1, 2016, and provide for different minimum wages depending on the area in which a business operates within the state. The increases and geographic distinctions are as follows:

Employer located within an urban growth boundary of certain metropolitan service districts

  • July 1, 2016 – $9.75
  • July 1, 2017 – $11.25
  • July 1, 2018 – $12.00
  • July 1, 2019 – $12.50
  • July 1, 2020 – $13.25
  • July 1, 2021 – $14.00
  • July 1, 2022 – $14.75

Employers located in certain nonurban counties

  • July 1, 2016 – $9.50
  • July 1, 2017 – $10.00
  • July 1, 2018 – $10.50
  • July 1, 2019 – $11.00
  • July 1, 2020 – $11.50
  • July 1, 2021 – $12.00
  • July 1, 2022 – $12.50

Employers in any other geographic area

  • July 1, 2016 – $9.75
  • July 1, 2017 – $10.25
  • July 1, 2018 – $10.75
  • July 1, 2019 – $11.25
  • July 1, 2020 – $12.00
  • July 1, 2021 – $12.75
  • July 1, 2022 – $13.50

Beginning in 2023, the minimum wage will increase consistent with an increase in the U.S. City Average Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers.

Counties that fall with in the definition of a “nonurban couty” include:

  • Baker
  • Coos
  • Crook
  • Curry
  • Douglas
  • Gilliam
  • Grant
  • Harney
  • Jefferson
  • Klamath
  • Lake
  • Malheur
  • Marrow
  • Sherman
  • Umatilla
  • Union
  • Wallowa
  • Wheeler
 

For more information, read Oregon Senate Bill 1532


February 2016

None


January 2016

None


Employment Law Updates

Laws change in a moment.

Sign up to stay informed.

Visiting on behalf of:

Have employees in more than one state? SUBSCRIBE HERE!

THANK YOU FOR SUBSCRIBING!

We hope you find our newsletters help you better navigate employment and labor law issues.

Employment Law Updates

Laws change in a moment.

Sign up to stay informed.

Visiting on behalf of:

Have employees in more than one state? SUBSCRIBE HERE!

THANK YOU FOR SUBSCRIBING!

We hope you find our newsletters help you better navigate employment and labor law issues.