Minnesota State Holidays

The State of Minnesota has designated several days each calendar year as state holidays. The implications of these state holidays on public employers and private employers are discussed below.

The following list contains the state holidays recognized by Minnesota.

  • New Year’s Day (January 1)
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day (3rd Monday in January)
  • Washington’s and Lincoln’s Birthday (3rd Monday in February)
  • Memorial Day (last Monday in May)
  • Independence Day (July 4)
  • Labor Day (1st Monday in September)
  • Columbus Day (2nd Monday in October)
  • Veterans Day (November 11)
  • Thanksgiving Day (Fourth Thursday in November)
  • Christmas Day (December 25)

If a holiday falls on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday. If a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is observed on the prior Friday. MN Statute 645.44(5)

Public employers

Public employers are prohibited from transacting business on any of the above listed holiday except for Columbus Day and in cases of necessity or public business transacted by the legislature. For the executive branch, the Friday after Thanksgiving is also a holiday. Other branches of the state government and political subdivisions may choose to observe Columbus Day and the Friday after Thanksgiving as holidays. MN Statute 645.44(5)

Private employers

Private employers in Minnesota are not required to close on any of the listed holidays. Additionally, private employers are not required to allow employees to take either paid or unpaid time off on the holidays nor are they required to pay employees any premium wage rates to employees who work on the holidays. Private employers may establish policies or practices granting employees time off on any of the listed holiday or agree to pay premium wage rates to employees who work on those days. Employers who establish such policies or practices may be required to comply with them.

Find out more about Minnesota’s Leave Laws.

Federal Holidays

Click here for a list of federal holidays.