Wyoming State Holidays

Wyoming State Holidays

The State of Wyoming has designated several days each calendar year as state holidays. The implications of these state holidays on public employers and private employers is discussed below.

The following list contains the national and state holidays recognized by Wyoming.

  • New Year’s Day (January 1)
  • Martin Luther King Jr., Wyoming Equality Day (3rd Monday in January)
  • Washington’s and Lincoln’s Birthdays (3rd Monday in February)
  • Memorial Day (last Monday in May)
  • Juneteenth Day (June 19)
  • Independence Day (July 4)
  • Labor Day (1st Monday in September)
  • Veterans Day (November 11)
  • Thanksgiving Day (4th Thursday in November)
  • Christmas Day (December 25)

WY Statute 8-4-101(a)

If a legal holiday falls on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday. WY Statute 8-4-101(b)

Public employers

County offices may be closed on legal holidays. WY Statute 18-3-103(b) Wyoming laws do not address whether public employees are entitled to either paid or unpaid holiday leave.

Private employers

Private employers in Wyoming are not required to close on any of the listed holidays. Additionally, private employers are not required to allow employees to take either paid or unpaid time off on the holidays nor are they required to pay employees any premium wage rates to employees who work on the holidays. Private employers may establish policies or practices granting employees time off on any of the listed holidays or agree to pay premium wage rates to employees who work on those days. Employers who establish such policies or practices may be required to comply with them.

Find out more about Wyoming’s Leave Laws.

Employment laws can change at a moments notice. Sign up for Employment Law Handbook’s free email updates to stay informed.