North Dakota State Holidays

North Dakota State Holidays

The State of North Dakota has designated several days each calendar year as state holidays. The implications of these state holidays on public employers and private employers is discussed below.

The following list contains the state holidays recognized by North Dakota.

  • New Year’s Day (January 1)
  • Martin Luther King’s Day (3rd Monday in January)
  • Washington’s Birthday (3rd Monday in February)
  • Good Friday (usually falls in March or April)
  • Memorial Day (last Monday in May)
  • Independence Day (July 4)
  • Labor Day (1st Monday in September)
  • Columbus Day (2nd Monday in October)
  • Veterans’ Day (November 11)
  • Thanksgiving Day (4th Thursday in November)
  • Christmas Day (December 25)

ND Statute 1-03-01

If a holiday falls on a Sunday, it is observed on the following Monday. ND Statute 1-03-02 If a holiday falls on a Saturday, it is observed on the prior Friday. ND Statute 1-03-02.1

Public employers

North Dakota statutes do not specifically grant public employees paid holiday leave. State offices must be closed at 12:00 p.m. on Christmas Eve (December 25) unless it falls on a Saturday or Sunday. ND Statute 1-03-01

Private employers

Private employers in North Dakota are not required to close on any of the listed holidays. Additionally, private employers are not required to allow employees to take either paid or unpaid time off on the holidays nor are they required to pay employees any premium wage rates to employees who work on the holidays. Private employers may establish policies or practices granting employees time off on any of the listed holiday or agree to pay premium wage rates to employees who work on those days. Employers who establish such policies or practices may be required to comply with them.

Find out more about North Dakota’s Leave Laws.

Employment laws can change at a moments notice. Sign up for Employment Law Handbook’s free email updates to stay informed.