Sick Leave Laws

Sick Leave and Federal Law

Federal law does not require employers provide employees with either short-term or long-term paid sick leave. Under the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), most employers with over 50 employees must provide long-term (leave lasting three (3) days or more) unpaid sick leave to eligible employees. Employees may also be eligible for injury or illness-related leave under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) or other similar federal laws.

Sick Leave, Family Medical Leave, and State Law:

Arizona, California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Maryland, Massachusetts, Oregon, Rhode Island (July 1, 2018), Vermont, and Washington require employers to provide employees short-duration sick leave. Depending on the state and the size of the employer, the sick leave may be paid or unpaid. Additionally, some counties and cities have ordinances requiring employers to provide short-duration sick leave.

Like the federal government’s FMLA, some states have long-duration unpaid sick leave laws. Additionally, both California and Washington have created state funds that compensate employees in certain situations where leave is required due to illness or the birth or adoption of a new child.

All states have workers’ compensation laws that may allow employees to take paid leave that is necessary due to injuries or illnesses that occur on the job.

Below are links to state-specific pages discussing each state’s sick leave requirements:

AlabamaKentuckyNorth Dakota
ColoradoMichiganRhode Island
ConnecticutMinnesotaSouth Carolina
DelawareMississippiSouth Dakota
District of ColumbiaMissouriTennessee
IdahoNew HampshireVirginia
IllinoisNew JerseyWashington
IndianaNew MexicoWest Virginia
IowaNew YorkWisconsin
KansasNorth CarolinaWyoming

Employment laws can change in a moment.
Sign up for out free email updates to stay informed.
More than one state CLICK HERE