Illinois Employment Law Updates – 2018

Illinois Employment Law Updates – 2018

August
August 26 – Gov. Rauner approved a law governing the reimbursement of employee expenses
On August 26, 2018, Governor Rauner signed Senate Bill 2999. The new law requires employers to reimburse employees for expenses incurred by the employee that inure to the primary benefit of the employer. Employers may establish written reimbursement policies with which employees must comply to be eligible for reimbursement. Other requirements and limitation apply.
The new law becomes effective January 1, 2018.
August 24 – Gov. Rauner approved a law changing meal period requirements for certain emergency medical services employees
On August 24, 2018, Governor Rauner signed Senate Bill 200. Under current law, most employers are required to permit employees to take at least 20 minutes for a meal break if they work form 7 1/2 hours or longer in a shift. The new law exempts from this requirement individuals who are 1) employed by a private company, 2) licensed under the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Systems Act, 3) are required to be on call during an entire 8-hour work period, and 4) are not local government employees. Employers are required to allow these employees to eat a meal while on call.
The new law became effective when signed.
August 21 – Gov. Rauner approved a law changing nursing mother breaks to paid breaks
On August 21, 2018, Governor Rauner signed House Bill 1595. The new law requires employers to provide reasonable paid break times, instead of unpaid break times, to nursing mother who need to express milk during the work day.
The new law became effective when signed.
August 10 – Gov. Rauner signed a law requiring certain hospitals to provide emergency staff with sexual assault training
On August 10, 2018, Governor Rauner signed House Bill 5245. The law requires that all treatment hospitals and treatment hospitals with approved pediatric transfer ensure that emergency department attending physicians, physician assistants, advanced practice registered nurses, and registered professional nurses providing clinical services, who do not meet the definition of a qualified medical provider, receive a minimum of two (2) hours of sexual assault training by July 1, 2020. After July 1, 2020, all treatment hospitals and treatment hospitals must ensure that all staff listed above receive two (2) hours of continuing education on responding to sexual assault victims every two (2) years.
The new law becomes effective on January 1, 2019.
FREE EMAIL UPDATES
Employment laws can change at a moments notice. Sign up for Employment Law Handbook’s free email updates to stay informed.