Delaware Employment Law Updates – 2018
On July 11, 2018, Governor Carney signed House Bill 409. The new law creates the Delaware Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act (WARN). This law requires certain employers to provide notice to the state when they will be having mass layoffs or plant closings. It differs from the Federal WARN Act in some ways including greater notice requirements.
On July 1, 2018, Governor Carney signed Senate Bill 170. The new law increases the state’s minimum wage. Begining October 1, 2018, the minimum wage will be $8.75. On October 1, 2019, the minimum wage increases to $9.25.
On June 30, 2018, Governor Carney signed House Bill 3. The new law gives employees who have worked for the state for more than one continuous year the right to take up to 12 weeks of leave upon the birth or adoption of a child. Other requirements and restrictions apply.