Wyoming Minimum Wage Laws




Minimum wage

Wyoming’s current minimum wage is $5.15. WY Statute 27-4-202(a).

Wyoming employers must also comply with federal minimum wage laws, which currently sets the federal minimum wage at $7.25. See FLSA: Minimum Wage.

If an employer chooses to pay employees minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage. In most instances in Wyoming, the federal minimum wage will apply as it generally guarantees a higher wage rate for employees than state law.



Tip minimum wage

Wyoming’s minimum wage for tipped employees is $2.13.

Wyoming defines a tipped employee as an employee who customarily and regularly receives more than $30.00 monthly in tips. If an employer chooses to pay the tipped minimum wage, it must also ensure that the tipped employees receive the standard minimum wage when tipped wages earned are combined with tips received. If a tipped employee is not paid the standard minimum wage when tipped wages earned are combined with tips received, the employer must pay the employee the difference. Tipped employees must provide their employers each month a daily record of tips which is required to be kept by such employees by the United States Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Such daily records establishes proof of the tip amount received by the employee. Providing proof of a customary tipping percentage of sales or service can also be an acceptable form of proof of the amount of tips. WY Statute 27-4-202(b).





Tip pooling and sharing

Wyoming law does not allow employers to require tipped employees to participate in a tip pooling or tip sharing arrangement. WY Statute 27-4-507. The law is not clear regarding whether tipped employees may voluntarily agree to participate in a tip pooling or tip sharing arrangement.



Subminimum wage

Employees with disabilities

Wyoming minimum wage law does not allow employers to pay employees with disabilities a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.



Trainees

Wyoming minimum wage laws allow employers to pay trainees under the age of 20 a subminimum rate of $4.25 for the first 90 consecutive days after the employees have been initially employed by the employer. WY Statute 27-4-202(c).



Apprentices

Wyoming minimum wage laws do not allow employers to pay apprentices a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.



Learners

Wyoming minimum wage laws do not allow employers to pay learners a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.



Student learners

Wyoming minimum wage laws do not allow employers to pay student learners a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.



Student workers

Wyoming minimum wage laws do not allow employers to pay student workers a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.