Quantcast

Rhode Island - Wage and Hour Laws

Browse To

 

Minimum Wage

Rhode Island's current minimum wage is $8.00.
For more information on Rhode Island's minimum wage laws, visit our Rhode Island Minimum Wage Laws page, which includes topics such as minimum wage, tip minimum wage, tip sharing and pooling, and subminimum wages.
Related topic covered on other pages include:

Overtime

Rhode Island requires an employer to pay overtime to employees, unless otherwise exempt, at the rate of 1½ times the employee's regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 40 hours in a workweek. RI Dept. of Labor FAQs. See FLSA: Overtime for more information regarding overtime requirements.

Back To Top

Meals and Breaks

Rhode Island employers must provide employees with a 20-minute meal period during a six-hour shift, and a 30-minute meal during an eight-hour shift. This does not include healthcare facilities or companies employing fewer than three employees at one site during a shift. RI Dept. of Labor FAQs.
Back To Top

Vacation Leave

Information about Rhode Island vacation leave laws may now be found on our Rhode Island Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Sick Leave

Information about Rhode Island sick leave laws may now be found on our Rhode Island Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Holiday Leave

Information about Rhode Island holiday leave laws may now be found on our Rhode Island Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Jury Duty Leave

Information about Rhode Island jury duty leave laws may now be found on our Rhode Island Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Voting Leave

Information about Rhode Island voting leave laws may now be found on our Rhode Island Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Severance Pay

Rhode Island law does not require employers to provide employees with severance pay. If an employer chooses to provide severance benefits, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.
Back To Top