Quantcast

North Dakota - Wage and Hour Laws - Employment Law Handbook

Browse To

 

Minimum Wage

North Dakota's current minimum wage is $7.25.
For more information on North Dakota's minimum wage laws, visit our North Dakota Minimum Wage Laws page, which includes topics such as minimum wage, tip minimum wage, tip sharing and pooling, and subminimum wages.
Related topic covered on other pages include:

Overtime

North Dakota requires an employer to pay overtime to employees, unless otherwise excess of 40 hours in a workweek. ND Dept. of Labor FAQs. See FLSA: Overtime for more information regarding overtime requirements.

Back To Top

Meals and Breaks

North Dakota employers are required to provide employees with an unpaid 30-minute uninterrupted meal break when scheduled to work more than five (5) hours and two (2) or more employees are on duty. ND Admin. Code § 46-02-07-02(5). An employer is not required to provide any other breaks. However, if they do, the breaks must be paid if they are less than thirty (30) minutes. ND Dept. of Labor FAQs.
Back To Top

Vacation Leave

Information about North Dakota vacation leave laws may now be found on our North Dakota Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Sick Leave

Information about North Dakota sick leave laws may now be found on our North Dakota Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Holiday Leave

Information about North Dakota holiday leave laws may now be found on our North Dakota Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Jury Duty Leave

Information about North Dakota jury duty leave laws may now be found on our North Dakota Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Voting Leave

Information about North Dakota voting leave laws may now be found on our North Dakota Leave Laws page.
Back To Top

Severance Pay

North Dakota law does not require employers to provide employees with severance pay. If an employer chooses to provide severance benefits, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.
Back To Top