Missouri Minimum Wage Laws




Minimum wage

Missouri’s current minimum wage is $7.65. See MO Dept. of Labor: Minimum Wage

Missouri minimum wage laws require an annual review of its minimum wage and the minimum wage must be increased by the percentage the cost of living has changed from the prior July to the July in the year the review is conducted. The review is conducted on September 30 of each year and the cost of living change is based on the Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers (CPI-W). Any change to the minimum wage takes effect on January 1 of the following year. MO Statute 290.502(2)

An employer may take a credit against its obligation to pay minimum wage for the fair market value of goods and services received and retained by employees so long as the employees voluntarily receive the goods and services and they are for the private benefit of the employees. The method of valuing good and services is set forth in Missouri Regulation 8:30-4.050. MO Statute 290.512(2)

Missouri employers must also comply with federal minimum wage laws, which currently sets the federal minimum wage at $7.25. See FLSA: Minimum Wage.

If an employer chooses to pay employees minimum wage, the employer must pay those employees in accordance with the minimum wage law, either federal or state, that results in the employees being paid the higher wage. In most instances in Missouri, the Missouri minimum wage will apply as it generally guarantees a higher wage rate for employees than federal law.





Tip minimum wage

Missouri’s minimum wage for tipped employees is $3.75.

An employer may not pay tipped employees a wage that is less than 50% of the standard minimum wage. Moreover, an employer is required to ensure employees are paid the standard minimum wage when tipped wages are combined with tips or gratuities earned. If employees do not earned at least the standard minimum wage for all hours worked when tipped wages are combined with tips earned, the employer must pay the employee the difference. MO Statute 290.512(1); MO Regs. 8:30-4.020



Tip pooling and sharing

Missouri’s law does not prohibit employers from requiring employees to participate in tip pooling or sharing arrangements. Because most employers in Missouri are subject to the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, the standards regarding tip/gratuity pooling set forth in that law provide reasonable guidance.



Subminimum wage

Employees with disabilities

Missouri law does not allow employers to pay employees with disabilities a wage rate less than the standard minimum wage unless the employees are employed in St. Louis County through the Summer Work Experience Program (SWEP), which is operated by Jobs, Employment, and Supported Services. Employees in SWEP may be paid a wage rate that is no less than $0.90 less than the standard minimum wage. MO Statute 290.515;MO Regs. 8:30-6.010



Trainees

Missouri minimum wage laws do not allow an employer to pay trainees a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.



Apprentices

Missouri minimum wage laws do not allow employers to pay apprentices a subminimum wage rate less than the standard minimum wage. The law authorizes the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations to establish regulations allowing employees to pay apprentices a subminimum wage that is not less than 90 cent less than the standard minimum wage; however, the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations has not held the required hearings to establish the regulations. MO Statute 290.517; see also MO Dept. of Labor: FAQ



Learners

Missouri minimum wage laws do not allow employers to pay learners a subminimum wage rate less than the standard minimum wage. The law authorizes the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations to establish regulations allowing employees to pay learners a subminimum wage that is not less than 90 cent less than the standard minimum wage; however, the Department of Labor and Industrial Relations has not held the required hearings to establish the regulations. MO Statute 290.517; see also MO Dept. of Labor: FAQ



Student learners

Missouri minimum wage laws do not allow an employer to pay student learners a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.



Student workers

Missouri minimum wage laws do not allow an employer to pay student workers a subminimum wage rate that is less than the standard minimum wage.