Missouri Wage and Hour Laws
Missouri’s current minimum wage is $7.50.
For more information on Missouri’s minimum wage laws, visit our Missouri Minimum Wage Laws page, which includes topics such as minimum wage, tip minimum wage, tip sharing and pooling, and subminimum wages.
Related topic covered on other pages include:
Missouri requires employers to pay employees overtime at a rate of 1½ time their regular rate when they work more than 40 hours in a workweek, unless otherwise exempt. MO Rev. Stat. 290.505. See FLSA: Overtime for more information regarding overtime requirements.
Meals and Breaks
Missouri does not have any laws requiring an employer to provide a meal period or breaks to employees, thus the federal rule applies. The federal rule does not require an employer to provide either a meal (lunch) period or breaks. However, if an employer chooses to do so, breaks, usually of the type lasting less than twenty (20) minutes, must be paid. Meal or lunch periods (usually thirty (30) minutes or more) do not need to be paid, so long as the employee is free to do as they wish during the meal or lunch period. DOL: Breaks and Meal Periods.
Information about Missouri vacation leave laws may now be found on our Missouri Leave Laws page.
Information about Missouri sick leave laws may now be found on our Missouri Leave Laws page.
Information about Missouri holiday leave laws may now be found on our Missouri Leave Laws page.
Jury Duty Leave
Information about Missouri jury duty leave laws may now be found on our Missouri Leave Laws page.
Information about Missouri voting leave laws may now be found on our Missouri Leave Laws page.
Missouri law does not require employers to provide employees with severance pay. MO Dept. of Labor and Industrial Relations FAQ. If an employer chooses to provide severance, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.