Kansas Wage and Hour Laws
Kansas’ current minimum wage is $7.25.
For more information on Kansas’s minimum wage laws, visit our Kansas Minimum Wage Laws page, which includes topics such as minimum wage, tip minimum wage, tip sharing and pooling, and subminimum wages.
Related topic covered on other pages include:
Kansas requires employers to pay overtime to employees not covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) at a rate of 1Â½ time their regular rate when they work more than 46 hours in a workweek, unless otherwise exempt. Kansas Stat. 44-1203.
The FLSA requires employers to employees overtime at a rate of 1Â½ times their regular rate when they work more than 40 hours in a workweek, unless otherwise exempt. See FLSA.
Meals and Breaks
Kansas does not have any laws requiring an employer to provide a meal period or breaks to employees, thus the federal rule applies. KS Dept. of Labor Workplace Laws FAQs. The federal rule does not require an employer to provide either a meal (lunch) period or breaks. However, if an employer chooses to do so, breaks, usually of the type lasting less than 20 minutes, must be paid. Meal or lunch periods (usually 30 minutes or more) do not need to be paid, so long as the employee is free to do as they wish during the meal or lunch period. DOL: Breaks and Meal Periods.
Information about Kansas vacation leave laws may now be found on our Kansas Leave Laws page.
Information about Kansas sick leave laws may now be found on our Kansas Leave Laws page.
Information about Kansas holiday leave laws may now be found on our Kansas Leave Laws page.
Jury Duty Leave
Information about Kansas jury duty leave laws may now be found on our Kansas Leave Laws page.
Information about Kansas voting leave laws may now be found on our Kansas Leave Laws page.
Kansas law does not require employers to provide employees with severance pay. KS Dept. of Labor Workplace Laws FAQs. If an employer choose to provide such benefits, it must comply with the terms of its established policy or employment contract.