Arizona Child Labor Laws


Arizona child labor laws regulate the employment of youth in the state of Arizona. These laws dictate the ages and the times as well as the types of work they may perform. Generally, speaking children 13 years old or younger may not work in Arizona, except in some limited situations. Youth who are 14 and 15 years old may work in a broader range of jobs, but are significantly limited in the number of hours per day and per week they may work, especially when school is in session. Youth who are 16 and 17 years old may work in a broad range jobs, but cannot work in those jobs that have been explicitly deemed to be too hazardous, unless a variance is granted. The details of Arizona child labor laws are discussed below.





14 and 15 year olds

Arizona child labor laws have provisions specifically directed to 14 and 15 year olds, including restrictions on what times during a day 14 and 15 year olds may work, how many hours in a week they many work, and what jobs or occupations they may perform. For more information, visit our Arizona Child Labor laws – 14 and 15 year olds page.



16 and 17 year olds

Arizona child labor laws have provisions specifically directed to 16 and 17 year olds, including restrictions on what jobs or occupations they may perform. For more information, visit our Arizona Child Labor laws – 16 and 17 year olds page.



Variances

Employers may apply for variances from Arizona child labor law restrictions on occupations for 14 – 17 year olds by submitting a written application to the Arizona Industrial Commission. The application must contain the following information:

  • the name and address of the employer
  • the name and title of the person filing the application
  • the name and date of birth of the youth seeking employment
  • the name and address of the school the youth is attending if the person is attending school
  • the address of the place of employment
  • the type of business
  • a specific description of the variation, modification, or renewal sought
  • a statement detailing how the granting of the variation would be in the best interests of the youth seeking employment and the community
  • a statement indicating any training the youth has received in the proposed employment, including a copy of certification of successful completion of any training program
  • the maximum hours to be worked in the employment on a daily and weekly basis
  • the wage scale and the method and timing of payment of wages
  • a statement of how the safety, health, and personal well-being of the youth will be protected
  • the name of the youth’s immediate supervisors and the frequency of supervision
  • the approval of the parent or guardian

The director of the Arizona Industrial Commission conducts an investigation based on the application and informs an employer by mail whether the variance has been granted. If the variance is denied, the employer may request a hearing for reconsideration. AZ Statute 23-241



Minimum wage

Information regarding Arizona’s minimum wage laws for minors may be found on our Arizona Minimum Wage Laws page.



Newspaper carrier exception

Youth as young as 10 years old may sell or offer for sale newspapers, magazines, or periodicals in any street or public place. AZ Statute 23-234



Exemptions

Arizona child labor laws exempt the following youth from its minimum age requirements for hazardous occupations:

  • youth who are employed by a parent, grandparent, bother, sister, aunt, uncle, first cousin, or stepparent, including relatives of the same degree through marriage or adoption or in loco parentis, so long as the family member owns at least 10% of the business and is actively engaged in the daily operation of the business, so long as the youth is not 15 years old or younger and engaged in manufacturing or mining
  • youth who work as child performers in motion pictures, theatrical, radio, or television productions, so long as the production company provides the Department of Labor of the Arizona Industrial Commission with the name and address of the person, the length, location, and hours of employment and any other information required by the department before the production begins
  • youth enrolled in career education programs
  • youth enrolled in vocational or technical training school programs as set forth in AZ Statute 15-781-791
  • youth working as apprentices and registered by the bureau of apprenticeship and training of the US Department of Labor in accordance with the established standards
  • youth trained under either the 4-H federal extension service or the United States office of education vocational agriculture training programs, if employed outside school hours on the equipment for which they have been trained
  • youth who have completed vocational or career education programs approved by the Department of Education if the programs are directly related to the prohibited occupation or employment or if working in the prohibited occupation is part of the vocational or career education program
  • youth who are married
  • youth who have a high school diploma or its equivalent

AZ Statute 23-235



Application of federal child labor laws

When provisions of both Arizona child labor laws and federal child labor laws are applicable, the employer must abide by the law that provides the youth the greatest protection. AZ Statute 23-242



Penalties

Cease and desist order

If the Arizona Industrial Commission has reasonable cause to believe an employer is violating Arizona child labor laws, it may serve on the employer a cease and desist order informing the employer of the act that violates the law and the employer’s right to a hearing. The cease and desist order will include a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 against the employer who is accused of violating Arizona child labor laws. AZ Statute 23-236

Criminal penalty

Employers who are found to have violated Arizona child labor laws are guilty of a class 2 misdemeanor. AZ Statute 23-239