Vermont Employment Law Updates

For employment law updates for other states, visit our
main page.

October 2016

None

September 2016

None

August 2016

None

July 2016

None

June 2016

June 6 – Gov. Shumlin signed a law providing for restrictions on the disclosure of protected health information.

On June 6, 2016, Gov. Shumlin signed a law that governs the disclosure of protected health information. The new law provides the same protections as the federal Health Insurance Protability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). The law has the effect of creating a state cause of action in addition to the federal cause of action available to affected parties.

The law goes into effect on October 1, 2016.

For more information, read Vermont Senate Bill 155.

May 2016

May 23 – Governor Shumlin signed a law extending National Guard and Reserve Members employment protections

On May 23, 2016, Governor Shumlin signed a law extending the state’s employment protections for National Guard and Reserve Members to employees who work in the state who are members of the National Guard of another state.

The law is effective July 1, 2016.

For more information, read Vermont House Bill 805.

May 15 – Governor Shumlin signed a law extending the state’s workplace smoking law to electronic cigarettes

On May 15, 2016, Governor Shumlin signed a law making it unlawful to smoke electronic cigarettes in the workplace, consistent with the prohibition on smoking tradition cigarettes.

The law is effective July 1, 2016.

For more information, read Vermont House Bill 171.

May 3 – Governor Shumlin signed a “ban the box” law

May 3, 2016, Governor Shumlin signed a “ban the box” law which prohibits employers from inquiring about applicants’ criminal histories on job applications. Employers may ask about criminal history in interviews or once applicants have been deemed otherwise qualified for jobs.

The law takes effect on July 1, 2017

For more information, read Vermont House Bill 261.

April 2016

None

March 2016

March 9 – Gov. Shumlin signs a law requiring businesses to provide employees with paid sick leave

On March 9, 2016, Gov. Shumlin signed a law that will require businesses to provide employees with paid sick leave starting January 1, 2017. The law will require businesses to give employees a minimum of 1 hour of leave for every 52 hours worked. Between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2018, business will be able to cap the amount of sick leave employees accrue to 24 hours per year. After December 31, 2018, the cap increases to 40 hours per year. Other requirements and restrictions apply.

The effective date for this law is January 1, 2017.

For more information, please read Vermont House Bill 187

February 2016

None

January 2016

None