New Jersey Employment Law Updates

For employment law updates for other states, visit our
main page.

October 2016

None

September 2016

September 30 – New Jersey’s Department of Labor and Workforce Development announced the minimum wage increase for 2017

On September 30, 2016, New Jersey’s Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Wage and Hour Compliance Division, announced that the state’s minimum wage will increase to $8.44 beginning January 1, 2017. New Jersey’s minimum wage law requires that the Department of Labor and Workforce Development adjust the minimum wage each year equivalent to the percentage increase in the consumer price index for the prior year. The change must be announced by September 30 of each year.

The new minimum wage will take effect on January 1, 2017.

For more information, read NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development Minimum Wage Notice 2017.

September 14 – Morristown Mayor Doughery signed an ordiance requiring employers to provide paid sick leave to employees

On September 14, 2016, Morristown’s Mayor Dougherty signed an ordinance requiring employers to provide eligible employees with paid sick leave. The new ordinance requires employers to provide employees with 1 hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Employers with 10 or more employees may cap the amount of sick leave for each employee at 40 hours per year. Employers with fewer than 20 employees may cap the amount at 24 hours per year. Other requirements and restrictions apply.

The new sick leave requirement will take effect on January 11, 2017.

For more information, read Morristown Paid Sick Leave Ordinance and Executive Order #16-01.

August 2016

None

July 2016

None

June 2016

None

May 2016

None

April 2016

None

March 2016

March 2 – Employers in Elizabeth, NJ, must begin to provide employees with sick leave

On March 2, 2016, most employers in Elizabeth, NJ, must begin to provide employees with paid sick leave. The new ordinance was approved by voters on November 3, 2015. Under the new law, employers with 10 or more employees must must allow employees to accrue at least 40 hours of pick sick leave each calendar year. Employers with fewer than 10 employees must all employee to accrue at least 24 hours of paid leave per year. Other requirements and restrictions apply.

For more information, read City of Elizabeth Ordinance Providing Paid Sick Leave to Private Employees

February 2016

None

January 2016

None